Get Back Your Missing iPhoto Albums in Photos

I finally figured out how to get my iPhoto albums back. I lost them ALL after Apple so abruptly murdered my beloved iPhoto to make room for the Photos App. If you read this post, you know I waited a long time for Photos to get everything imported and it just didn’t work for me.

How To get your albums back if Photos didn’t find the correct library during the initial import:

  1. Quit Photos.
  2. Hold down the option key and open Photos.
  3. Highlight the correct library from the pop up screen and click Choose.
  4. Wait for the program to process the new library.

You can now manually import the ‘wrong’ library’s photos into your new Photos library. If you have multiple iPhoto library’s you were keeping separate on purpose simply use the technique above to switch back and forth when you need to do so.

If you want to combine multiple iPhoto libraries into one, you have your work cut out for you. I have not found a way to combine them in Photos without losing all of the album data. In this situation, you will need to import those and reorganize manually. That can take very long if you have years of images like most people, so you may want to keep the multiple libraries separate.  At least for now, you may be better off switching back and forth between libraries using the option key technique. That way your album organization is still going to be there.

Boo to this whole situation – I’m talkin’ to YOU Apple! You really stink for this one! IMHO, the death of iPhoto is a way to get more people to feel pressure to buy your stupid cloud storage. I conclude so because it integrates with all the iPhones and iPads and Apple TV’s of the world. How do I know it does? Well, because Apple has pop ups all in my face on every device telling me so. Like every day. They also tell me that I need to upgrade my storage space. That my storage is full. Ugh! Using forced upgrades as sneaky a sales technique makes me want to return to Android and PC’s. (Sorry for the rant but I’m just sayin’…)

<3,
Roni

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Get Back Your Missing iPhoto Albums in Photos

Put in your two screws here:

